Where's my review?

  • 8
  • Problem
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Solved
I tried to post a short review for "Seven Brides for Seven Brothers" a few days ago, and it is still "pending" - normally reviews are posted quickly for me.  There should be nothing that should prevent it from going up.  I have since tried to post the same review, and have been "declined" three times for my contribution appearing to be a duplicate of existing data listed on IMDb.  However, my original review is not listed anywhere - I have looked for it numerous times.  What's going on??
Photo of Paul Kydd

Paul Kydd

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 2 years ago

  • 8
Photo of Bethany

Bethany

  • 84 Posts
  • 115 Reply Likes

It is the same with me too. I have four reviews still pending, two from yesterday, one from the day before and the other the day before that.  Like you a vast majority of the rest of my reviews (being a prolific reviewer) since the change of layout, have been approved very quickly. Straight away even for most. I have queried about this already to the help desk. Their quite helpful answer, which was reasonably quick, said that the submissions had not yet had time to be processed after needing to be checked by staff first (which from the sounds of it has not yet been done). They also said that the amount of time it takes can vary, judging from the data contributions page link they provided it is clear that the amount of submissions they get every day is a lot and we're talking about user reviews alone.

I totally see where you're coming from. With the "pending reviews" section gone, which is one the things that needs to come back, there is no way of telling whether the review has been pending or been rejected. Sometimes I get paranoid as to whether I submitted it at all. Just to say too that it happened with me twice before since the new review layout was enforced. One over the Christmas break which I found out was due to under-staffing and that things are slower over the festive season, which was understandable. And the other was that the review had been approved but somehow was not showing on my account page and it was implied there was some kind of bug problem. It is very frustrating and unnerving for me when this problem happens, it very rarely happened for me with the old review layout (plus there was actually a way of seeing whether the review was still pending or been rejected) whereas it's happened three times in this month alone. The very few times it happened with the old layout in my early years of using this site tended to be with longer reviews with spoilers, for a few years now my reviews are still long but I am careful not to use spoilers.


Hope this helps and good luck.

Photo of Col Needham

Col Needham, Official Rep

  • 6834 Posts
  • 4815 Reply Likes
I totally see where you're coming from. With the "pending reviews" section gone, which is one the things that needs to come back, there is no way of telling whether the review has been pending or been rejected.
Yes, this should still be supported. To check on a review's processing status, please click on the link provided in the email receipt you should receive after each review submission.  
Photo of Paul Kydd

Paul Kydd

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thanks for your reply, Bethany - very useful to know.  I'm perhaps being just a bit too impatient.  But I have since uploaded another review (a longer, more detailed one), which was approved straightaway, so obviously the length of time for approval can vary depending on various factors.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3547 Posts
  • 3410 Reply Likes

I tried to post a short review for "Seven Brides for Seven Brothers"
a few days ago, and it is still "pending"
normally reviews are posted quickly for me.
by Paul Kydd
Joined on January 27, 2018
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/people/paul_kydd
- - -

I would like to read it

Which 7B47B ?

http://www.imdb.com/find?q=Seven%20Brides%20for%20Seven%20Brothers&s=tt&exact=true
Displaying 4 results for "Seven Brides for Seven Brothers"

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers  (1954)
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0047472/reference
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0047472/reviews
146 Reviews Ordered By: Helpfulness

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers  (1982-1983)
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0083476/reference
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0083476/reviews
4 Reviews Ordered By: Helpfulness

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers  (2014)
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt4067138/reference
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt4067138/reviews
0 Reviews Ordered By: Helpfulness

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers  (2008)
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1246084/reference
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1246084/reviews
0 Reviews Ordered By: Helpfulness
- - -

This you ?

Paul Kydd
IMDb member since June 2000
IMDb Member 17 years
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur0768297/
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur0768297/reviews
3 Reviews Ordered By: Date
- Aliens (1986) : 1,143 Reviews Ordered By Helpfulness
- The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert (1994) : 140 Reviews
- Hero (1992) : 70 Reviews

(Edited)
Photo of Paul Kydd

Paul Kydd

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
It's the 1954 film version.  And altough that Paul Kydd is me, I think that profile is (or should be) obsolete.  When I began again to post reviews, I had to set up another account, from a different email address, so the account I am talking about is paulrkydd (I couldn't use Paul Kydd again, as it was taken by another user - i.e. me! lol), and I have been an IMDb member under this name since October 2005.  Thank you.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3547 Posts
  • 3410 Reply Likes

... so the account I am talking about is paulrkydd
(I couldn't use Paul Kydd again,
as it was taken by another user - i.e. me! lol),
by Paul Kydd
- - -

May be easier for Us to find your review for "Seven Brides for Seven Brothers"
on your Profile page than looking for it thru 146 Reviews Ordered By: Helpfulness

add a link to paulrkydd on Paul Kydd
add a link to Paul Kydd on paulrkydd
- - -

paulrkydd ??

http://www.google.com/search?q=site:IMDb.com+paulrkydd
IMDb: Films - lists by paulrkydd

9 results (0.33 seconds) 
The requested URL was not found on our server
- - -

Name already used ?
IMDb adds a random number to the newer name

paul-23459 - Sat Oct 17 2015  http://www.imdb.com/user/ur63239000/
paul-36411 - Wed Jan 27 2016  http://www.imdb.com/user/ur65156750/
paul-03668 - Thu Nov 17 2016  http://www.imdb.com/user/ur69780900/
paul-00523 - Sat Oct 14 2017  http://www.imdb.com/user/ur81315555/

EDIT

That changed after your new account October 2005 ?

by - IMDb Help Desk
 28 Sep 2009 10:59:19 AM
 Hello Thanks for your message.
 If a nickname is already taken,
 the IMDb userreg system now picks a nickname for the user,
 using their desired nickname and a specially generated number.
 That is why you are suddenly seeing a lot of new users
 with strange looking numbers in their IMDb nicknames.
 Many thanks Regards, Alex The IMDb Help Desk
(Edited)
Photo of Paul Kydd

Paul Kydd

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
There wouldn't be any point looking through the 146 reviews anyway, because mine is not there - that's the whole problem.  It seems to have not been posted and remains "pending" (since last Thursday).  My profile is paulrkydd http://www.imdb.com/user/ur7549188/  I can try to post the review again, if you can't find it anywhere...?
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3547 Posts
  • 3410 Reply Likes

It seems to have not been posted and remains "pending" (since last Thursday).
My profile is paulrkydd

 http://www.imdb.com/user/ur7549188/ 
I can try to post the review again, if you can't find it anywhere...?
by Paul Kydd
- - -

Looking today: Jan 29 2018
No short review for "Seven Brides for Seven Brothers"

Need to change title to "A Seven Brides for Seven Brothers" ??


paulrkydd
IMDb member since October 2005
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur7549188/
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur7549188/reviews
38 Reviews Ordered By: Date

Alice (aka Neco z Alenky) ***1⁄2 (7/10)
27 January 2018

Alexander ***1⁄2 (7/10)
27 January 2018

Aladdin ***1⁄2 (7/10)
25 January 2018

Assassin's Creed **1⁄2 (5/10)
23 January 2018

Airport **** (8/10)
23 January 2018

Airplane! **** (8/10)
20 January 2018

Air Force One ***1⁄2 (7/10)
19 January 2018

AI: Artificial Intelligence ***1⁄2 (7/10)
18 January 2018

Age of Heroes ***1⁄2 (7/10)
17 January 2018

The Age of Adaline **** (8/10)
15 January 2018


Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3547 Posts
  • 3410 Reply Likes

Tue Jan 30 2018

paulrkydd
IMDb member since October 2005
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur7549188/
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur7549188/reviews
39 Reviews Ordered By: Date

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers (1954)
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0047472/
Seven Brides for Seven Brothers *** (6/10)
25 January 2018

USA 1954 English (Colour); Musical (Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer); 102 minutes (U certificate)
Crew includes: Stanley Donen (Director); Albert Hackett, Frances Goodrich, Dorothy Kingsley (Screenwriters, adapting Short Story "The Sobbin' Women" by Stephen Vincent Benét); Jack Cummings (Producer)

Cast includes: Jane Powell, Howard Keel, Jeff Richards, Russ Tamblyn, Tommy Rall, Howard Petrie, Virginia Gibson, Ian Wolfe

Academy Award: Scoring of a Musical; Golden Globe Award: Most Promising Newcomer (Richards)

After the eldest (Keel) brings home a wife (Powell), his six bedraggled brothers aim to get themselves similarly hard-working and attractive brides by means of a mass kidnapping.

Made in the 1950s, set in the 1850s and unsurprisingly sexist (women treated as objects and/or possessions of their menfolk), with some fine singing and acrobatic dancing.

0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Yes No | Report this


Seven Brides for Seven Brothers  (1954) 
User Reviews
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0047472/
147 Reviews Ordered By: Helpfulness

Not here ??


(Edited)
Photo of Col Needham

Col Needham, Official Rep

  • 6834 Posts
  • 4816 Reply Likes
Please see https://help.imdb.com/article/contribution/contribution-information/when-will-my-update-be-added/GEK... (and our answer above, reviews are eligible for the "Track Contribution" feature via the email receipt). 
Photo of Paul Kydd

Paul Kydd

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thank you for this.  As I have commented elsewhere, I am perhaps being just a bit too impatient, but given that generally my reviews have been approved within a few hours, I was anxious that one I wrote 3 days or so ago was still "pending" and perhaps had slipped through some cracks.  I'll wait, then, for a few more days for it (hopefully!) to appear.  Thanks again.
Photo of ElMo

ElMo

  • 3651 Posts
  • 3949 Reply Likes
Same problem for me with a White Ribbon review (3 days now), not that it often happens, but the most frustrating thing about it is you don't even know what the problem is, so you can fix it.
Photo of Paul Kydd

Paul Kydd

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
First time this has happened to me, so I'm not complaining.  I just hoped I hadn't done anything wrong.  Hopefully my review will appear within the next few days.  Thanks again.
Photo of Michael Elliott

Michael Elliott

  • 5 Posts
  • 22 Reply Likes
I had the same question.  Some reviews get posted seconds after you submit them while others are taking days. 
Photo of Stan Heck

Stan Heck

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Why are my reviews being delayed.

I have reviewed several hundred films and now the last 3 that I did are not posted.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3411 Posts
  • 3262 Reply Likes

People who reviews after me and yet mine have not been approved.  After over 400 reviews
by Stan Heck
Joined on January 28, 2018
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/people/stan_heck
- - -

? ?

https://www.google.com/search?q=site:IMDb.com+"Stan+Heck" 

https://www.google.com/search?q=site%3AIMDb.com+%22StanHeck%22


stanheck-94948
IMDb member since June 2017
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur77671931/
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur77671931/ratings - 191 titles
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur77671931/reviews - 1 Review Ordered By: Date
- - -

? ?

A Very Merry Mix-Up Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt3131456/reviews
Alicia Witt Shines 10/10.
Author: stanheck-80269 on 23 June 2017.

Alicia Witt Shines
Author: I-Love-The-Holidayz on 23 June 2017 (Name change ?)
I-Love-The-Holidayz
IMDb member since June 2017
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur77631966/
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur77631966/reviews - 1 Review Ordered By: Date


(Edited)
Photo of Horst

Horst

  • 241 Posts
  • 317 Reply Likes
seems to be a general issue, I have some open too with estimated processing date being stated is yesterday (27/1/2018)
Photo of neener3707

neener3707

  • 59 Posts
  • 15 Reply Likes
This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled 3 Days And User Reviews Sill Wont Post.

I was told it takes up to 24 hours to post a review but its been three days and I noticed other people who reviewed the same titles are getting their reviews posted.
Photo of Stan Heck

Stan Heck

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Me too.  People who reviews after me and yet mine have not been approved.  After over 400 reviews I have never had this long of a waiting time. 
Photo of neener3707

neener3707

  • 59 Posts
  • 15 Reply Likes
I really hope we get a real answer, and not just "check your receipt".
Photo of Prismark10

Prismark10

  • 12 Posts
  • 12 Reply Likes
There certainly is a problem at IMDB about posting of reviews in the last few days. I have several pending.
Photo of Arth Joshi

Arth Joshi

  • 41 Posts
  • 22 Reply Likes
This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Review is still on pending list...

Around two days ago, I reviewed six movies (Downsizing, Call Me By Your Name, The Shape Of Water, The Disaster Artist, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri and I,Tonya) and an episode of a sitcom The Office (the American version) and I still can't see them on my reviews list. At first, the mail; that I do get after I submit a review, arrived late than usual and then all the reviews that I have submitted (after Saturday, perhaps) has not yet been displayed. So I am worried that is there an issue in my profile or my reviews or what? 
Photo of neener3707

neener3707

  • 59 Posts
  • 15 Reply Likes
I did, and as many others have said, it is well beyond the date it says the contribution will be added, mines about 2 days late.
(Edited)
Photo of Col Needham

Col Needham, Official Rep

  • 6834 Posts
  • 4815 Reply Likes
Was the review submitted on or after 25 January? If so, it is most likely to still be pending (which you can confirm via the track contribution in the email receipt).  Please see https://contribute.imdb.com/times

User Reviews | Platinum | 25 January 2018 | 1,584
Photo of neener3707

neener3707

  • 59 Posts
  • 15 Reply Likes
So if I'm not a platinum member I have to wait 5 days? That sucks, its never taken that long, usually it takes under an hour for it to post, so thats why I'm confused.

Email says processing date is the 27th. 
Photo of Col Needham

Col Needham, Official Rep

  • 6834 Posts
  • 4815 Reply Likes
Please read the page at https://contribute.imdb.com/times

We process large quantities of valuable data which is submitted by you, our contributors. While all submissions are important, to ensure we display the highest profile data for the most popular content as quickly as possible, we prioritize contributions based on the type of content submitted.
where the word "prioritize" links to https://contribute.imdb.com/times#prioritization which explains the normal service levels, hence "platinum" (it has nothing to do with any kind of membership scheme).
Photo of neener3707

neener3707

  • 59 Posts
  • 15 Reply Likes
Still doesn't explain why others on the same item who posted after me get theirs through first, but thanks for the help. I see that the more popular the item is, the quicker it gets posted.
Photo of alikhat

alikhat

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
Okay, well, now I don't feel so bad. My review for Star Trek: Discovery was supposed to post a mere day ago. Seems there are lots of folks here who've been waiting even longer. I have to assume this is a by-product of the site's redesign, since, as has been noted, reviews used to post within a matter of hours.
Photo of neener3707

neener3707

  • 59 Posts
  • 15 Reply Likes
Seriously starting to piss me off. Reviews written after mine are being posted on the same item.
Photo of Bethany

Bethany

  • 84 Posts
  • 115 Reply Likes

I'm feeling the same too, I have also seen reviews for different films since the 25th-26th, the period where my pending reviews stem, when I was thinking there was a review temporary backlog so I was thinking there wouldn't be any reviews being approved.

(Edited)
Photo of neener3707

neener3707

  • 59 Posts
  • 15 Reply Likes
I guess the site is being re-done, so I guess thats the problem, doesn't make sense to me but oh well.
Photo of hollis frampton

hollis frampton

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Same thing has happened to me. My review of Phantom Thread was said, in my email, to be posted by January 28th 2018. It is now the 29th. Still no review. Same thing is happening with me review of The Kid. I'm a bit concerned.
Photo of Arth Joshi

Arth Joshi

  • 41 Posts
  • 22 Reply Likes
I too was concerned at first but don't worry we all are in the same boat, hang in there.
Photo of Austin Chou

Austin Chou

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Reviews gone.

My review for I, Tonya was added and later disappeared and my review for The Florida Project has still not been uploaded in spite submitting it about a day ago
Photo of neener3707

neener3707

  • 59 Posts
  • 15 Reply Likes
Ok thats awesome, good to know. 

Thanks again sir, you have been very patient with me and my frustration.
Photo of Stan Heck

Stan Heck

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I get people abusing the reporting on my reviews.  My review on "Switched For Christmas" was taken down.  I don't understand why.  The only thing I said tha was negative was "Once Again Candace Proves her acting limits".  
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3513 Posts
  • 3372 Reply Likes

Ok thats awesome, good to know.
by neener3707
Joined on January 16, 2018
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/people/mr_rusty831
- - -

? ?

neener3707
IMDb member since January 2012
IMDb Member 6 years
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur30414462/
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur30414462/reviews - 19 Reviews Ordered By: Date


Photo of hollis frampton

hollis frampton

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
What a relief.
Photo of neener3707

neener3707

  • 59 Posts
  • 15 Reply Likes
What was your intention for your post ACT_1?
Photo of neener3707

neener3707

  • 59 Posts
  • 15 Reply Likes
This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled 15 Reviews Up Before Mine.

Even though I wrote the review before anyone had been posted, 15 people have gone before me, why is it being delayed and not others?
Photo of Col Needham

Col Needham, Official Rep

  • 6834 Posts
  • 4816 Reply Likes
We have caught-up on the backlog and made some adjustments to processing workloads on the team.  User reviews are back within platinum SLA, please see https://contribute.imdb.com/times
Photo of neener3707

neener3707

  • 59 Posts
  • 15 Reply Likes
I noticed it worked fine for the Winchester (2018) but before that I wrote one for Altered Carbon (2018) and nobody else had written one. 2 days later 15 reviews were posted and mine not. Still says its processing.