Reviews: Need a search capability within user reviews for a title

  • 4
  • Idea
  • Updated 2 months ago
  • (Edited)
Much like Amazon.com has a Search box on the Customer Reviews page of each product, I'd like to see that on IMDb.com. That way I can search for certain words when the title has multiple pages of user reviews.
Photo of bderoes

bderoes, Champion

  • 992 Posts
  • 1327 Reply Likes

Posted 2 years ago

  • 4
Photo of julie conn

julie conn

  • 19 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hold the page,then Try using a name of a product or a person or movie to search on google, I. E. Or a search engine to locate by date, or image and yes that would be cool to have a search on IMDb! Their very helpful and nice people!
Julie Ann Conn
(Edited)
Photo of bderoes

bderoes, Champion

  • 992 Posts
  • 1327 Reply Likes
@julie conn
if you think it would be nice to have on imdb, then please Vote for the idea with the heart button at the top of the page.

I'm not sure I follow your suggestion.

Let's do an example. Let's find all the reviews that mention "Joan" for the film Good News ('47). Here's the index of 39 reviews:
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0039431/reviews-index?filter=chrono;filter=chrono;
Going page by page, I find "joan" in reviews dated
8 December 2016
7 September 2016
3 June 2016
26 July 2014
26 August 2011
24 December 2008
21 August 2007
18 July 2006
25 May 2006
3 May 2005
3 May 2004
23 October 2001
26 September 2001
30 June 2001
13 May 2001
1 February 2000
15 March 1999

But when I do the google search
joan site:www.imdb.com/title/tt0039431/reviews
I get 3 listings, one of which is the review page itself. And that first page will display different reviews depending on your display preference (Best vs Chronological, etc.) So this Google search was completely inadequate.

So what's your external search suggestion, exactly?
Photo of Peter

Peter, Champion

  • 5915 Posts
  • 6888 Reply Likes
I was going to suggest a button to expand all reviews on a review page. I'll just add it here as the purpose is similar to bderoes's.

I used to use page search on review pages for research purposes, but that is harder to do now that reviews are only partially displayed.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3284 Posts
  • 3098 Reply Likes

... expand all reviews on a review page ...
- - -

This could be a rather large page ? ?

Solo: A Star Wars Story  (2018) 
User Reviews
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt3778644/reviews
2,241 Reviews
.

Photo of Peter

Peter, Champion

  • 5915 Posts
  • 6888 Reply Likes
I don't mean all the reviews necessarily, just the ones that have been loaded.

bderoes's suggestion would be even better.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3284 Posts
  • 3098 Reply Likes
... just the ones that have been loaded ...
- - -

There have been several chats here by me and others  about changing

"Load More..."  to  "Page No 1 ...  Page No 999"

ah...  You can Search for that on GS
.

(Edited)