IMDB should limit the number of User Reviews.

  • 1
  • Idea
  • Updated 6 months ago
In my opinion there should be a limit to the number of reviews per subject. When it gets to be over a hundred, many of them are just repetitive. I know everyone is a critic and feels they should be heard but come on who wants to comb through a ludicrous amount of misspelled words and bad grammar. Why not have categories or statements people can agree with or give a thumbs up or down. Personally I wish more people would ask questions to clear up confusing plots and that is where the Trivia section is more appealing with helpful information.
Photo of Karla Kutsch

Karla Kutsch

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 6 months ago

  • 1
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 4681 Posts
  • 6308 Reply Likes
Karla Kutsch
Joined community on February 2, 2020 - new today
- - -
 
Keep the Latest 100 reviews ? ?
Keep the Prolific reviewers ? ?
There is a "Report this" option on reviews 
 
MartinHafer
Sun Jun 8 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/ratings - 23,457 titles
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/reviews - 23,745 Reviews
 
Michael_Elliott
Sat Nov 25 2006
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur13134536/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur13134536/ratings - 11 titles
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur13134536/reviews - 16,398 Reviews
 
TheLittleSongbird
Fri Jan 30 2009
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur20552756/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur20552756/ratings - 16,737 titles
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur20552756/reviews - 16,750 Reviews
 
bkoganbing
Sun Jun 15 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2483625/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2483625/ratings - 16,253 titles
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2483625/reviews - 16,286 Reviews
 
SnoopyStyle
Dec 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2898520/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2898520/ratings - 11,855 titles
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2898520/reviews - 11,728 Reviews
.

(Edited)
Photo of cinephile

cinephile

  • 1766 Posts
  • 2615 Reply Likes
There is no problem, I think that the system is perfect as it is.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 4681 Posts
  • 6308 Reply Likes
  
Not too many here ? ?

Cats (2019)
User Reviews
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt5697572/reviews - 1,435 Reviews
  
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt5697572/ratings - 24,987
IMDb users have given a weighted average vote of 2.8 / 10
.
Photo of Marco

Marco

  • 1653 Posts
  • 2119 Reply Likes
Not too many here ? ?

Nope. You don't have to read them all you know.
Photo of Jimmy Simard

Jimmy Simard

  • 7 Posts
  • 23 Reply Likes
Nobody force you to read anything... there is a sort function for a reason you know.
Photo of cinephile

cinephile

  • 1766 Posts
  • 2615 Reply Likes
Usually, I read none.
Photo of MST3K (and Narnia) is Awesome

MST3K (and Narnia) is Awesome

  • 4953 Posts
  • 8599 Reply Likes
To limit the number of User Reviews would be unfair.  The reason I joined IMDb to start with was solely to write reviews, as I have a passion for it and enjoy it as a creative and intellectual outlet.  IMDb is not just a place to advertise movies; it is a place for film buffs to express opinions and begin their own dreams as a critic.
Photo of Ed Jones(XLIX)

Ed Jones(XLIX)

  • 23311 Posts
  • 27775 Reply Likes
Don't say Limit anywhere around Little Songbird!!!
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 4681 Posts
  • 6308 Reply Likes
TheLittleSongbird :
  
Bethany
Joined on October 24, 2013
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/people/bethany_6050787
.
Photo of 15yearsIMDber aka ElMo

15yearsIMDber aka ElMo

  • 4472 Posts
  • 5349 Reply Likes
If we're speaking of reviews that consists on one sentence and that sound more like Twitter material, yes, I agree something should be done, but preventing users from reviewing or limiting the number would be totally unfair. If it ever happened, I would have nothing to do on IMDb anymore. Users are capable and literate enough to distinguish between "interesting" and "blah blah" reviews... and many classics don't get more than 300 or 400 reviews anyway and even then, you can just order them by 'helpfulness'.  As for the grammar, there used to be an automatic corrector... now we have to double-check before submitting but we do our best.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 4681 Posts
  • 6308 Reply Likes
? ?
  
Make sure reviews are reviews again (minimum of 50 words instead of 50 characters)
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/idea-make-sure-reviews-are-reviews-again-minimum-of-50-words...
Marco
Posted 2 years ago
.
Photo of albstein

albstein

  • 990 Posts
  • 1997 Reply Likes
Don't throw the baby out with the bathwater.
Photo of bderoes

bderoes, Champion

  • 2397 Posts
  • 4018 Reply Likes

We can already vote Reviews as Helpful or Not, and sort the reviews by their Helpfulness score, as well as 4 other criteria shown below:

We can also filter by the numeric score of the reviewer's rating of that title (even when they haven't made their ratings public, that feature does "out" their rating. See this title:)
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0101153/reviews?sort=userRating&dir=desc&ratingFilter=5

I agree that poor writing, including spelling, grammar and punctuation, can be annoying. Perhaps IMDb can run each review through a checker and give the reviewer the chance to edit their copy before submitting. After acceptance, perhaps IMDb can highlight with the classic red  squiggle underline anything that is still "wrong" when it's published. That way we, the readers, can glance at the frequency of red marks and choose to skip a poorly edited review. 

I disagree strongly with placing a cap on the total number of reviews that can be submitted for a title. That n+1st review might be the one that really "nails it." 
Photo of MST3K (and Narnia) is Awesome

MST3K (and Narnia) is Awesome

  • 4953 Posts
  • 8599 Reply Likes
I agree.  :)
Photo of Ed Jones(XLIX)

Ed Jones(XLIX)

  • 23311 Posts
  • 27775 Reply Likes
Nailed it!

Related image

Caution: Professional Reviewer "Nailing It" on a closed database.
DO NOT Attempt!
Surgeon General Warning: Writing with a nail gun IS hazardous to William Tell.
Only Sgt. Murtaugh can use on bad guys. Riggs says it's OK.....
(Edited)
Photo of Jimmy Simard

Jimmy Simard

  • 7 Posts
  • 23 Reply Likes
Why? Who decide that someone review isn't important or that someone review is an useless waste of space? Certainly not me and certainly not you. All reviews are important (yep even the ones who are obviously planted and paid for) and nobody force anyone to read them all. I give you a hint take it as you want... read the ones from the prolific writers.

Also one part of your message really bother me: "misspelled words and bad grammar"

Not everybody in the world is a native english speaker... I prefer to read not perfectly writen review than nothing at all. Would you prefer if the review section would have review writen in french, spanish, russian, chinese or any other languages who isn't english? I don't think so, so climb down of your high horse.
(Edited)