Make sure reviews are reviews again (minimum of 50 words instead of 50 characters)

  • 21
  • Idea
  • Updated 1 month ago
  • (Edited)
Idea: Make sure reviews are reviews again.
Current situation: Recently, IMDb has decided that a user review should at least have 50 characters. I feel it is impossible to write a review in - let's say - 60 or 70 characters. However, because IMDb allows this, a lot of useful, insightful observations like "I like this movie a lot, it's brilliant. I think it's the best film ever!" (73 characters) surface.
How to fix this situation: IMDb should decide that a user review should at least have 50 words instead of 50 characters. (obviously, another number of words or characters could also be chosen, but the current number stated is just plain silly and doesn't show much respect for the real review writers, or the customers of the site for that matter)
How you can help getting this done?: By replying to this post and liking this thread and following this thread.
Photo of Marco

Marco

  • 1681 Posts
  • 2151 Reply Likes

Posted 3 years ago

  • 21
Photo of Mark L. Levinson

Mark L. Levinson

  • 13 Posts
  • 21 Reply Likes
Sometimes I had to think hard before I could meet the old ten-line minimum, but I think it made sense.  A comment is not a review.
Photo of gromit82

gromit82, Champion

  • 7593 Posts
  • 9788 Reply Likes
I don't know what the exact minimum limit of words or characters should be, but I agree with Marco that 50 characters is definitely too short to be considered a useful or worthwhile review.

Nobody is required to submit reviews to IMDb. If they can't think of 50 words to write, they don't have to submit a review.

Furthermore, I was under the impression that the 50-character limit was introduced, in part, to cater to people who prefer to use their smartphones for everything and don't use desktop computers if they can avoid it. But if someone prefers using their smartphone for writing, they ought to be willing to type an additional number of words using their smartphone. 
Photo of Brett Harrison

Brett Harrison

  • 16 Posts
  • 29 Reply Likes
I agree. 50 characters makes a mockery of the whole reviewing system. Mind you, IMDb seem to have made a mess of things when it comes to reviews, making it impossible to filter them. They say they'll sort it out, but we'll see...
Photo of XweAponX

XweAponX

  • 53 Posts
  • 46 Reply Likes
I think it should go back to the 10 line minimum, it's better for everyone like that.
Photo of Marco

Marco

  • 1681 Posts
  • 2151 Reply Likes
I think it's pretty petty that IMDb removed this thread from "Services: IMDb.com". User reviews are an issue that concerns both customers and contributors and I see no reason why it should be removed from the general "Services: IMDb.com" part of GetSat. User reviews is an area of interest for a lot of non-contributors mind you! (also note that the thread "Update to User Reviews" actually *is* attached to "Services: IMDb.com": https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/update-to-user-reviews)

I'd like a staffer to explain why this idea shouldn't be attached to Services: IMDb.com. I think it's of interest for a lot of non-contributing customers who might not visit the "Data issues & Policy Discussions" area of GetSat. If they can't explain, I want them to add it back there.

Also IMDb, you always say that we should put stuff in the Ideas section to see how many people agree so you can see how high up on the list of proposed changes it should go, so shouldn't you give us the possibility to show it to as many people as we see fit?
Photo of Marco

Marco

  • 1681 Posts
  • 2151 Reply Likes
Bump.
Photo of Marco

Marco

  • 1681 Posts
  • 2151 Reply Likes
Bump.
A response from a staffer explaining why this was removed (without asking or informing me) from the general "Services: IMDb.com" part of GetSat would be very welcome. The way it is now, it's almost as if you want me to think you try to keep this Idea under the radar, which, for the record, I don't think, but why leave so much room for doubt?
As I've said multiple times on the old Contributors Board, communication is key!
Photo of 15yearsIMDber aka ElMo

15yearsIMDber aka ElMo

  • 4548 Posts
  • 5488 Reply Likes
This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Ceci n'est pas une Review....

Here's a review I just found on IMDb, I guess it meets the new requirements... but seriously, how on Earth can be this considered a review? (with all due respect to the user who posted it)

Thanks for this movie because I love this movie and I like to show them
That's it. That's not even a comment. The craziest thing is that the user put a 'Warning Spoilers' and got 5 points of hopefulness.

To get it straight, it's not about this review in particular but I suppose there are now at least hundreds of "reviews" that look like this one. As a matter of fact, anyone can just take one sentence and copy-paste it in every possible film and become a prolific reviewer.

That's the problem if you want to make reviewing possible from mobile phones, you'll get this kind of reviews more often than the constructive albeit short ones.
Photo of Marco

Marco

  • 1681 Posts
  • 2151 Reply Likes
Thanks for this example Sdk. I'm afraid you're right, there are hundreds and probably thousands of these junk texts posing as user reviews out there.
Photo of XweAponX

XweAponX

  • 53 Posts
  • 46 Reply Likes
I've made quite a few reviews from my mobile phone which you can do if you go down to the bottom of any media page and press on "show on IMDb.com". But you can't do it directly from the app, something I have been suggesting ever since the app came out originally, I had it on my very first iPhone about nine years ago.

But for most of those years they had a ten line minimum for reviews which they should go back to- it forces most people to be honest when they make a review , it did me and I remember there was no lower limit when they first put up the reviews section , back when IMDb started
Photo of David Chester

David Chester

  • 12 Posts
  • 16 Reply Likes
It doesn't matter. I've seen reviews saying things like, "IMDB requires me to have 50 words/10 lines/a minimum of xxxx. So, this is my review." Then they write "boring," copy and paste it 50 times and then that's their "review." 

From a recent comment I got from IMDB's "help desk," it is quite clear that they don't care about this and that they must think they are offering us a great "opportunity" by "allowing us" to post our reviews. 

I love IMDB for what it offers, as it's a wealth of info, but I am encouraged to consider starting my own movie review website, because I would know this: 1) the reviews would be intelligent; 2) the reviews would be proofread; 3) the reviews would stay on point; 4) the reviews would not repeat one word over and over again; 5) the reviews would capitalize the word "I" instead of allowing it to become part of some bizarre "stylization" of the English language where the "reviewer" is too lazy to use the Caps lock key for a nano-second.

I may not have the "worldwide audience" that IMDB has, but at least it wouldn't take five days to approve a review, nor would it take another five days to approve an edited version of that review. 


Photo of Ardan Tüzünsoy

Ardan Tüzünsoy

  • 164 Posts
  • 345 Reply Likes
^^ Exactly. People use the comments section as a means to vent off. "Tom Hanks doesn't like Trump, so screw his movies. Worst movie I've seen." is considered a perfectly valid comment nowadays.

I, likewise, have seen many "I'm just writing this to fill the 10-line quota, this film sucks" type of stuff. "This film sucks" is not a comment. (It's not even an opinion, for that matter, it's a feeling). A comment should at least say something about the film itself.

I remember that my review for a Charles Bronson film was refused, and I was surprised. It was a few paragraphs long, and it wasn't derogatory or anything. Then I realized: I had commented about the actors and made some bad jokes etc, but I hadn't said anything about the plot. So I added a small paragraph about the plot, and this time it was accepted.

Compare that situation to now. "Didn't like it, worst movie ever, don't bother." What's the point of this? Do they actually expect people to care? To take them seriously? What honestly is the point of taking the time to write something that doesn't say anything at all, and will be ignored by everyone?

Like someone said above, writing a comment isn't mandatory. It isn't homework. If you can't find 10 sentences to say about a film, don't say it at all. 

If I ever made a movie, I'd rather have two meaningful negative comments than having a thousand "best movie ever!" type of nonsense stuff.


Photo of eye M.D.B

eye M.D.B

  • 25 Posts
  • 42 Reply Likes
All of you guys who commented here are heroes and I like all your comments.I actually did set up this account, because I was so frustrated about the declining quality in IMDB (which was my favourite site for 1-2 decades) that I with a broken heart decided to cancel my account there in order not to loose myself anymore in concerns about other people's opinions about movies I just watched.

I am glad you did express my thoughts so that I can leave now with a sense of closure - if IMDB doesn't listen it's their problem now.

I wish you all her the very best and a clear 20-20-vision of society for 2020!
Photo of XweAponX

XweAponX

  • 53 Posts
  • 46 Reply Likes
I feel the same way and it is sad that quality reviewers will leave IMDb because of lack of IMDb action on this practice. Like hell if I will leave, but this torrent of fake IMDb “users“ angers me, they treat the site as if it were Reddit. I’ve been here from the start and I won’t leave. But I will target fake reviews that are verbatim duplicates of each other posted by a single person posing as 100 people, and I won’t stop until IMDb does something about this. I have suggested one thing that would instantly stop the torrent of fake reviewers: simply get rid of the “not helpful“ button, The fake accounts treat it as a “down vote“ button which they abuse to hide positive reviews, so that all of the negative reviews that they find “helpful“ float to the top. Getting rid of the Ersatz “down vote“ would remove their teeth and they would leave.

I mean, even give those of us who report these fake reviews more power over the process, give us a text box so we can explain why we think the review should be removed or at least edited. But basically IMDB does nothing to quell inappropriate and duplicate reviews, their very inaction encourages more.

My IMDb brethren, “these things ought not so to be“.
(Edited)
Photo of ACT_1   ⚠️

ACT_1 ⚠️

  • 4813 Posts
  • 6450 Reply Likes
  
Reviews : minimum of 50 words ? ?
- - -
 
Cats (2019)
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt5697572/reference
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt5697572/releaseinfo
USA - 16 December 2019 (New York City) (premiere) 
USA  - 20 December 2019
UK    - 20 December 2019
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt5697572/reviews - 880 Reviews
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt5697572/trivia
One week after its release, it was revealed by The Daily Mail
that director Tom Hooper edited and re-cut the film
after it was panned by many critics.
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt5697572/trivia?item=tr4871324
 
On December 21st 2019, a mere 2 days after its release,
Universal Pictures announced they would be releasing a new version
with updated CGI at an undisclosed time.
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt5697572/trivia?item=tr4870351
  
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt5697572/ratings
2,985 IMDb users have given a weighted average vote of 2.7 / 10
Rating          Votes
10     8.3%   1,073
  1   53.3%   6,917
Arithmetic mean = 3.2   Median = 1
= = =

1/10
My eyessss
spidgeon-24809
30 December 2019
Oh god my eyes it burns, it was awful truly awfull
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5367438/
  
1/10
This film SUCKS...
mikethieme
30 December 2019
The worst film since the birth of cinema. I'd rather eat cat poop than watch that movie again!
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5367212/
 
1/10
I love Taylor Swift but this ain't right.
sophiavriego
30 December 2019
A lot of talent have gone to waste because of this movie.
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5367035/
 
1/10
Love reading the reviews!
azkazulfakhairina
30 December 2019
Grabbing popcorns; not during watching this movie but during reading the reviews.
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5366906/
  
1/10
Never wanted tear my eyes out more
zarahussein
30 December 2019
This movie is the biggest waste of time and money. Never ever watch it.
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5366604/
  
1/10
I have figured out the target audience finally!
Jonah-Lowenthal-681-385788
30 December 2019
5 year old children that didnt know their Sunny D had been laced with Paoti.
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5366508/
  
3/10
I lost interest
terihurt
30 December 2019
JHud and Taylor were excellent, but I lost interest pretty quickly. Kinda boring. I would not recommend it.
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5366495/
 
8/10
you guys r nuts
napodyno3
30 December 2019
It was very entertaining and enjoyable. Everybody is sooo freaking critical of every little thing that isn't perfect.
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5366203/
  
1/10
If this movie doesn't make you a dog person, I don't know what will
jessmcalis
30 December 2019
So bad. Just so, so very bad. The person who said this is what everyone saw in Birdbox is spot on. Avoid at all costs if you can.
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5366080/
 
1/10
Disgusting
cwits
30 December 2019
I have no words, because this is the worst and most terrifying thing that I have ever seen!
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5366001/
 
1/10
Terrible movie!!
mfm10000
30 December 2019
It was such a nightmare! I swear I will see the reviews before I watch a movie!!
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5365899/
 
1/10
Never actually saw
inspiredbymusic-42109
30 December 2019
...but the reviews are far more entertaining than the movie coukd ever hope to be
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5365865/
 
10/10
Good points
easterbunnymindy
29 December 2019
Breathtaking and sparkling fun and dazzling and also magical.
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5365658/
 
10/10
Loved it
caryll-41061
29 December 2019
I loved the movie I don't understand why it is getting such bad reviews
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5365439/
 
8/10
Kids loved it
tonyharris25
29 December 2019
Guess it's gonna be like Marmite. The kids loved it.
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5365196/
 
9/10
This is cinema
bensoussanbr
29 December 2019
This is cinema. Isn't b'way show. Different. A eccellent film
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5364497/
 
1/10
Trash
alrightalright1151
29 December 2019
Pure garbage... that's all you need to know. If possible, I would give this movie 0/10
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5364454/
 
10/10
A unique and entertaining musical
davidjsloane
29 December 2019
I can't understand why this has had bad reviews, it's thoroughly entertaining and a unique story and spectacle.
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5364018/
 
1/10
Poor
robplusson
29 December 2019
Poor in spirit. Poor of reality. Poor Screenplay. Worst Movie of the Year
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5363337/
 
1/10
Im scared
braiandmindala
29 December 2019
Help, i think i have a ptsd, but i gotta say its the best advertisement for cat adoption
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5363216/
 
8/10
Not that bad ...
angmullmail
28 December 2019
... only watched it because of the negative reviews. Wasn't that bad ...
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5362967/
 
and others ...  (͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
.
(Edited)
Photo of Marco

Marco

  • 1681 Posts
  • 2151 Reply Likes
Well, feel free to vote for idea ACT 1.
Photo of Ed Jones(XLIX)

Ed Jones(XLIX)

  • 23311 Posts
  • 27783 Reply Likes
That'll be the day!
He may not know how!
Photo of XweAponX

XweAponX

  • 53 Posts
  • 46 Reply Likes
Well it looks like they took one of my suggestions and implemented it, now, whenever you report a fake review or a review that appears to be political opinion and nothing to do with the show, you can explain in a text box why you think it should be taken down. This just came up within the last few days.

I don’t know if anybody saw this, but the new show about Picard, somebody posted a “review” ( that had nothing to do with the episode obviously) —- One whole week before the episode was shown! So I wrote my own review refuting that. But the point was, a fake review spouting political jingoism should never have been allowed in the first place and never should have been allowed one week before the episode was even aired. And before this new review system came into being, you would never see stuff like that - there used to be a spellchecker built-in to the review editor and it would not let you post as a review until you fixed your typos. And it would not let you post unless it was not 50 words, but 10 lines. This needs to be put back into effect. Also, if I remember correctly you absolutely could not post a review of a show that had not aired yet.
(Edited)
Photo of cinephile

cinephile

  • 1766 Posts
  • 2615 Reply Likes
I agree,


Photo of cinephile

cinephile

  • 1766 Posts
  • 2615 Reply Likes
I'm funny XD, I wrote only 8 characters in my reply.

Seriously, I wrote a more complete review of the idea on this post: https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/how-many-reviews-do-you-need-to-write-to-receive-the-top-reviewer-badge

I agree with you Elmo, the worst for me is that some reviews aren't actual review, the user is telling us is an opinion, but he doesn't write an explanation, but of course, in that case, we can rank them by pertinence, my opinion is similar to what Marco linked, there should be a minimum of 50 words. Otherwise, some users could simply spam "Bad" or "Great", or copy the same review each time like Ed Jones mentioned. It is obvious that it is hard to avoid to be repetitive when you don't want to spoil, because when you find a movie good, you often relate to the characters, find that the screenplay is deep, etc. In fact, for me, that is the hardest to achieve, to write useful reviews without spoiling anything.
In conclusion, there should be procedures to avoid spam or over short reviews.
Photo of Ed Jones(XLIX)

Ed Jones(XLIX)

  • 23311 Posts
  • 27783 Reply Likes
I also find it odd that there is NO policy on spelling, punctuation, literacy and grammar.
There are contributors from other countries other than the USA that pride themselves on submitting a review in a language that is NOT their own that is well written and then have it sit atop or below a review written by an illiterate American. I'm American. I am displeased that IMDb allows these kind of reviews.

I'd like to see well written reviews. It pains me to have to read the "Garbage" along with those good reviews.

There ought to be an automatic relocation of these type of reviews IF there are a minimum of say 100 "Not Helpful" on any particular review. They could be in a separate file that would be in the drop-down menu, marked as least helpful reviews. Sort of a "Razzie" section!! Some might find it fun to be the best at being the worst! Fun!!!!!
(Edited)
Photo of cinephile

cinephile

  • 1766 Posts
  • 2615 Reply Likes
Yes, I think that there should be a policy about that, I make a lot of efforts to avoid errors, you can see a huge difference between my first review about "The Hunt" and my last one about "The Master".

PS: Most of the time I make a lot of efforts, even when I write a short review for a movie that I think was bad, I try to have a decent spelling (I use my knowledge, Grammarly, and Google Translate).
Photo of cinephile

cinephile

  • 1766 Posts
  • 2615 Reply Likes
Comment: I don't know why a wrote the review about National Treasure (2004), this one is a shame to me, it is so bad that I can't read it anymore.
Photo of ACT_1   ⚠️

ACT_1 ⚠️

  • 4813 Posts
  • 6450 Reply Likes

? ?
  
Pukeonthestreet
IMDb member since February 10 2020
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur113529171/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur113529171/reviews - 213 Reviews
 
Holmes & Watson (2018)
Why did people forget that stupid movies are supposed to be stupid?
11 February 2020
The entire point of this movie is to be illogical.
It succeeds wonderfully and is hilarious.
People have seem to forgotten what comedies are like
 
Check It Out! with Dr. Steve Brule (2010)
Hilarious
11 February 2020
His character was already a highlight of tim and eric so for him to get his own show was obvious.
 
Tom Goes to the Mayor (2004)
Where it all started
11 February 2020
Honestly this might be better than tim and eric soley for the fact that it doesn't get as dark and creepy.
 
Ice Age (2002)
A really great children's movie
11 February 2020
Adults will love it just as much as kids.
The a list cast lifts it up.
 
The Babadook (2014)
More reasons we need more women to make more movies
11 February 2020
Easily one of the creepiest films ever made.
It's so well done I can't wait to see what she does next.
 
The Conjuring (2013)
One of the best horror movies
11 February 2020
I wish the sequels lived up to this. But at least we have this.
 
Hocus Pocus (1993)
One of the best made for tv movies
11 February 2020
It's not just nostalgia. This movie is well crafted. Funny and endearing.
 
Bumblebee (2018)
A great throwback
11 February 2020
It's so old school there's barely a kiss in it.
Harkens back to a time when movies were more wholesome and you'll love it for that.
 
The Road (2009)
Post apocalyptic
11 February 2020
For a story without character names, it's crazy how great this movie is. Viggo carefully chooses his films and it shows.
 
Kick-Ass (2010)
Really great
11 February 2020
In a world chock full of way too many super hero movies this one stands out.
.

Photo of ACT_1   ⚠️

ACT_1 ⚠️

  • 4813 Posts
  • 6450 Reply Likes
  
f_ckchop
IMDb member since June 3 2020
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur119285650/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur119285650/reviews
  
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5795228/
Gary Busey: Pet Judge (2020– )
10/10
Pet! Justice!
3 June 2020
PET JUSTICEEEE!

(Can not display characters here from Review ?!?)
.
(Edited)
Photo of Ed Jones(XLIX)

Ed Jones(XLIX)

  • 23311 Posts
  • 27783 Reply Likes
I have a rather stellar idea.

Any individual that creates a user account does not actually have the access to write reviews. The newly registered user must register within the user account with a review account. The terms of use are very simple.

1. User must abide by the IMDb review guidelines.

2. Users reviews will not be displayed until 5 reviews are submitted over a 90 day period and will not be displayed until the 90 day limit is reached. Those reviews must be on separate titles.

3. If the user fails to at least provide 1 review at least every 90 days after the expiration of that 90 day period, then all reviews will be removed.

4. Once the user reaches a minimum count of 50 reviews total, they become exempt from rules  number 2 and 3.

The privilege of writing reviews should only be granted to those that are serious about writing said reviews.
Photo of Ed Jones(XLIX)

Ed Jones(XLIX)

  • 23311 Posts
  • 27783 Reply Likes
Then a simple fix is to add a word 50 minimum.
But the contribution of one review every 3 months is not unreasonable gromit82.
The requirement of this 1 every 3 months will put an end to Bot reviews.
Photo of gromit82

gromit82, Champion

  • 7593 Posts
  • 9788 Reply Likes
Ed: I don't know what the bot reviews are like, but if the reviews are being written and posted by bots, couldn't the programmer get around your requirements by programming the bot to post reviews as frequently as needed, whether that is 1 every 3 months, or more often?
Photo of Ed Jones(XLIX)

Ed Jones(XLIX)

  • 23311 Posts
  • 27783 Reply Likes
The Bots first review will not post for 90 days. And if the bot does not continue on that path and maintain one every 90 days then that first review never makes it live. Also if a bot attempts to post multiple reviews in a short time, those will not go live until the initial 90 days lapse. This will be very hard to disguise. A single new account with a single review that is bot generated is hard to spot. But A new account that has to be maintained with reviews will stick out if there is a pattern with other reviews Botted at the same time. It will be almost impossible to fool anyone with half a brain that the account is a true Bot account.
Photo of Jeorj Euler

Jeorj Euler

  • 7480 Posts
  • 9924 Reply Likes
We need to implement a Turing test and then eventually a Voight-Kampff test!
Photo of XweAponX

XweAponX

  • 53 Posts
  • 46 Reply Likes
Lol that’s exactly right!
Photo of ACT_1   ⚠️

ACT_1 ⚠️

  • 4813 Posts
  • 6450 Reply Likes
  
Reviewers: Quality and Quantity.
 
MartinHafer
June 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/ratings  - 24,011 titles 
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/reviews - 24,291 Reviews
   
TheLittleSongbird 
Jan 2009
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur20552756/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur20552756/ratings  - 17,417 titles
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur20552756/reviews - 17,430 Reviews 
  
bkoganbing 
June 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2483625/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2483625/ratings  - 16,705 titles
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2483625/reviews - 16,734 Reviews
 
Michael_Elliott
Nov 2006
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur13134536/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur13134536/ratings  - 11 titles 
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur13134536/reviews - 16,423 Reviews 
  
Leofwine_draca
May 2000
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0482513/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0482513/ratings  - 16,807 titles 
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0482513/reviews - 14,036 Reviews
  
SnoopyStyle
Dec 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2898520/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2898520/ratings  - 12,437 titles  
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2898520/reviews - 12,331 Reviews
 
Horst_In_Translation 
Sep 2004
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur3914439/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur3914439/ratings  - 23,210 titles
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur3914439/reviews - 10,090 Reviews
    
Hitchcoc 
March 1999
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0278527/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0278527/ratings  -  10,033 titles  
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur0278527/reviews -  10,039 Reviews
.
(Edited)
Photo of XweAponX

XweAponX

  • 53 Posts
  • 46 Reply Likes
I apologize, this started out as a short response to those review links, but it turned into a TOME. Sorry!


I’m familiar with that Hitchcoc guy, they’ve reviewed a few of the same things I have, I frequently “run into them” as a matter of fact.


Some of those people have been on this site for over 20 years, I am amazed that some of those people have pushed out 24,000 reviews. I have barely hit 900, and most of those when I was more active on the site. I just don’t have the enthusiasm that I had when I originally joined, after being inundated by fake accounts that are virtually posting the same review of a show or movie up to 100 times, sometimes even before that item is released. They did it to the second episode of “Picard“, claiming that everybody who gave it a positive review were fake (rather than themselves). I’m not sure if that review is still there, I reported it as inappropriate and duplicate. I wrote a refuting review shortly after that one appeared to refute what the guy said and also pointing out that the comments section is not supposed to be a podium to pound on for politics or religion and that person’s review was both. I also made sure to state that nobody should write reviews of things that have not been seen, The only place where that show has been seen before release was in Germany where they showed the first three episodes in a theater, and none of those people who were there wrote reviews of those three episodes, that’s just one thing I don’t do, And I don’t even like putting spoilers in mine, although sometimes I have to explain some thing that they did with the storytelling and it is sometimes perceived as a spoiler, so I have had to go back in and make slight alterations. I used to write all kinds of spoilers because I would review something using a point by point or review of the movie or episode. But I try to not do that anymore


Looking through the reviews from some of those people that were linked, it was refreshing to see reviews that specifically dealt with the shows at hand and didn’t go off on any tangential political/religious rants. Those rants, I would never see things like that until maybe about I think we can go back five years when they started in earnest? because we have evangelicals telling their congregations to review everything negatively regardless of if they have seen it or not. I have actually seen encouragement of this in Reddit.


That is what they are trying to do, they are trying to turn IMDb into Reddit. And the one thing that empowers them is that “not helpful“ button. This is why I have always hated reddit because it empowers trolls and robots to bury statements that they don’t like with hundreds and sometimes thousands of “down votes“/“Unhelpful votes“... I have long encouraged IMDb to remove a feature that has been being abused, I don’t even think they have a “non-helpful“ button on Amazon reviews, when you go into prime and look at the reviews for films in there. I will have to check again but I don’t think they have it.


In the first years of this site “not helpful” was a useful feature because nobody was hammering on it, but now it is just another avenue which trolls and fake accounts use to bury what they don’t like. The least IMDb could do would be to remove any weighting system that Unhelpful votes add to a review so that it has the same chance of being seen as a review that has hundreds or thousands of helpful votes. When you think about it, all that is needed on any review site is a like button, I mean what purpose really does a “not like/not helpful” button serve? Other than to add a competitive and antagonistic atmosphere. If there were only a like button, then the people who like something will “like” it and the trolls will have to figure something else out.
(Edited)
Photo of ACT_1   ⚠️

ACT_1 ⚠️

  • 4813 Posts
  • 6450 Reply Likes
  
Some that write Short reviews

bevo-13678
May 2017
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur76062573/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur76062573/reviews - 2,227

Bigchungus2020
May 2018
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur88001075/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur88001075/reviews - 5
  
forryjesse 
December 2015
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur64516611/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur64516611/reviews - 14
  
glengolf 
June 2010
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur23336531/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur23336531/reviews - 48 (some are long)
  
jasperan 
January 2018
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur84840277/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur84840277/reviews - 72 
  
K3nzit
October 2007
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur17108559/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur17108559/reviews - 405 (some are long) 
  
magnum-ajt
December 2017
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur83134060/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur83134060/reviews - 74 
  
mmboy-17662 
August 2015
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur62350212/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur62350212/reviews - 6
  
neumann-151-40715
November 2014
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur56263829/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur56263829/reviews - 3
  
Petra_Huber
January 2013
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur40402823/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur40402823/reviews - 769
  
phuketboy
May 2017
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur76685003/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur76685003/reviews - 122
   
guenterfmang
February 2018
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur85579214/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur85579214/reviews - 41
 
stephen_haack 
January 2005
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur4612740/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur4612740/reviews - 8 
   
stoobie-92483 
September 2017
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur80333750/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur80333750/reviews - 6
.
Photo of Marco

Marco

  • 1681 Posts
  • 2151 Reply Likes
bevo-13678
May 2017
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur76062573/

https://www.imdb.com/user/ur76062573/reviews
- 2,227

This is most definitely without a doubt one of the worst things I've ever seen on IMDb! Disgusting.
Photo of IMDbmember

IMDbmember

  • 188 Posts
  • 329 Reply Likes
Just about every change IMDb made back when they renovated the site back in--oh when was it-- 2017-2018 was bad.

Used to be so many lines one had to at least write and there was an upper limit of words, too.  Now, it's all about characters because the world is Twitter, and nobody writes anymore--not words and certainly not articulate sentences.  Never mind, I guess, that IMDb has no social-media function, which largely defeats the purpose of this pretending to be half Letterboxd.

Actual reviews get rejected more frequently, too, nowadays, and the staff edit them (badly) without notice--and all the while this Twitter-sized, emoji-filled trash written by illiterates pollutes the entire site.

You can't track your deleted reviews, either, and good luck finding them with the scrolling being altered around fitting on a computer in one's pocket.  Hey, there's another quick fix to better reviews: don't support users writing them on phones.  That's not going to happen, though, of course.

The only change I can think of that I like was that the upper limit of characters tends to result in longer reviews being allowed--not that most would discover such a limit--than did the old 1,000 words barrier.

As for the like/dislike feature--I mean "helpful" or not--it doesn't really matter whether they get rid of the dislike.  I formerly defended it, but it's all the same as to people up-voting their shared view.  I used to pretend that this was a helpful feature for feedback on my writing.  I know, silly.  IMDb used to have private messages, which for the few I received regarding my reviews was more helpful feedback than thousands of helpful/not helpful votes.  Just look at letterboxd, they only have a "like" option, and it doesn't prevent crap from topping the reviews, although the absence of a "dislike" option there may help create a more positive atmosphere, as it's a social-media site.  IMDb, on the other hand, who cares?  It's not like users are talking to each other on message boards, in private messages or even through Facebook on lists anymore.  There's just this getsatisfaction place for complaints and polls left.
Photo of La casa de los horrores

La casa de los horrores

  • 1 Post
  • 2 Reply Likes
Unfortunately, long reviews are no longer a thing for the large majority of users. Thanks to Twitter? Rottentomatoes? People got used to short sentences, when it comes to reviews. If they look for explanations of an ending, or something like that, then you can write a whole book. But... reviews don't matter anymore so I can understand this decision from IMDb. I hate it, but as someone sang, the times they are a-changing...
Photo of Nikolay Yeriomin (Mykola Yeromin)

Nikolay Yeriomin (Mykola Yeromin), Champion

  • 3773 Posts
  • 5217 Reply Likes
La casa de los horrores, people got used to word limit in general and yes, at least partially we should blame the Twitter. 

It's one thing to be sufficiently laconic and entirely another to have an attention span so short it actually prevents reading longer texts and leads to a TL:DR mentality. And, I mean, I'm biased as someone who likes to both write and read (sometimes inexcusable) long things, but... some things cannot be explained with a word limit.  
Photo of ACT_1   ⚠️

ACT_1 ⚠️

  • 4813 Posts
  • 6450 Reply Likes
  
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Too_long;_didn't_read
Too long; didn't read (abbreviated TL;DR and tl;dr) 
is a shorthand notation added by an editor 
indicating that a passage appears too long to invest the time to digest it....
  
  
I did not read all that stuff at Wiki Wiki, may go back and read more later (͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
.
Photo of Ardan Tüzünsoy

Ardan Tüzünsoy

  • 164 Posts
  • 345 Reply Likes
I was selling one of my old phones on a second-hand website. To avoid answering tons of private messages, I decided to write every detail in the description. So I wrote 15 lines. NOT a paragraph that'a 15 lines long, but simply 15 short lines, like:

- Bought it in 2006
- Charger included

etc, you get the idea. Still, some guy sent me a message, and I'm still keeping it to show people who don't believe this story. He said my description was like a novel, his eyes hurt trying to read it, and wanted me to send him a private message about whether the phone worked or not.

Now, reading is a cognitive process. A person doesn't read starting with the first letter, slowly making his way to the others, figuring out the meaning. When you see the word cinema, it takes one zillionth of a millisecond to read it. You don't go c-i-n...

So you guys may want to justify this, find excuses to forgive this, but I can't. This website is for reading and sharing information. That's its purpose, not its shortcoming. If someone is interested enough to visit a movie site to read reviews, but also thinks it takes a long time to read a couple of paragraphs (about a subject they're supposedly interested in)... or even worse, if they actually do take a long time reading it... well, let me choose my words carefully here: they can go to hell.
Photo of XweAponX

XweAponX

  • 53 Posts
  • 46 Reply Likes
Yes! That is exactly how I feel, and I will make a review as long as I wish. But I do like an imposed upper limit as long as it is a reasonable amount.


It used to be that there was 1000 word? Upper limit. I was able to fit lots of what I felt into that limit. But we definitely need that original 10-line lower limit reinstated. Not 10 words, 10 lines. Because it makes you think about what you really want to say. I don’t know about anyone else, but I don’t start writing a review until I’ve got a general idea of what I am going to say. Usually I can fit it in to a 1000 word limit, but recently I haven’t gone way over that. But I kind of wish that 1000 word limit was still there, that would help •me•.
(Edited)
Photo of IMDbmember

IMDbmember

  • 188 Posts
  • 329 Reply Likes
There's a 10,000 characters upper limit now.  If the average length of a word in English is slightly under 5 characters, I guess that means the word limit now is nearer 2,000 words, give or take depending on punctuation.

I'm glad the upper limit was expanded--it's really the only change IMDb made last time that I like.  Back in the day, I had to edit some of my reviews many times to get them within the 1,000 words barrier.  Not a big deal, mind you, but it's nice to have some more room, which I've since taken advantage of probably a few times, and I don't think I've come close to the new limit--largely, I suppose, because IMDb has trained me to stick around 1,000 words at most, 10 lines at least.
Photo of XweAponX

XweAponX

  • 53 Posts
  • 46 Reply Likes
10,000!? That’s too much... even 5000 would be better.

having a limit makes people better at communicating. I liked having the 1000 limit because when I would reach it, I would look at what I had written and then delete most of it and start all over again.
(Edited)
Photo of ACT_1   ⚠️

ACT_1 ⚠️

  • 4813 Posts
  • 6450 Reply Likes
  
So, when Someone adds a new review ...
https://contribute.imdb.com/review/tt0110912/add
IMDb could add some text to the page ??
"Make sure reviews are a minimum of 50 words"
- - -
  
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5917767/
nicostabi
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur120957261/
IMDb member since Mon Jul 13 2020
Review of Pulp Fiction (1994)
10/10
Marvellous!
19 July 2020
A spectacular film which has consecrated Tarantino's mythology.
- - -
  
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5913499/
ohauge
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur121105223/
IMDb member since Thu Jul 16 2020
Review of Pulp Fiction (1994)
 10/10
Classic tarantino
17 July 2020
Great movie tarantinos best watch IT if you don't you have missed out, so watch IT and enjoy!!!
- - -
  
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw5905592/
avisheksahu-96247
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur120988639/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur120988639/reviews - 40
IMDb member since Mon Jul 13 2020
Review of Pulp Fiction (1994)
 9/10
Elegance in Absurdity
14 July 2020
America is big because it has the capacity to give reputation to absurdity. 
This movie does just that: it is absurd, but it is beautiful!
.
(Edited)