How to report a same user profile who left 36 reviews for 1 movie?

  • 3
  • Problem
  • Updated 1 week ago
  • In Progress
I'm exhausted and can't do it alone. This user appears to have left 36 reviews with ONE same account (how is that even possible??) for The Wizard of Oz to hike up its rating (she keeps leaving 10/10). Please help. I can't find a link to "report user profile" to report all her fake reviews at once. Also, she's leaving one-liners and I couldn't do that: it asks for way more content than that! 

Not sure how she managed to manipulate the system (is this a hack onto IMDb.com?) but I'm exhausted after clicking "report this" for a dozen of her reviews, so I made this profile here. If her profile can't be reported for fake/duplicate reviews, could several of you please take over reporting all her 36 reviews? Can't do it alone, here. Thanks!

https://www.imdb.com/user/ur70175079/reviews

PS: I apologize if posting in wrong category, I don't see subforums. Or if I wasn't supposed to paste her URL.
Photo of Appraiser1

Appraiser1

  • 32 Posts
  • 42 Reply Likes
  • exhausted

Posted 1 month ago

  • 3
Photo of Michelle

Michelle, Official Rep

  • 12681 Posts
  • 9560 Reply Likes
Hi Appraiser1 -

Thanks for reporting this occurrence, if you encounter any similar cases on the site please report them on this thread.

In the meantime, I have removed the duplicate User Reviews and filed a ticket with the appropriate technical team for further investigation.
(Edited)
Photo of Appraiser1

Appraiser1

  • 32 Posts
  • 42 Reply Likes
Thank you, Michelle, and will do. However it looks like she added some more today. Her profile reviews went down from 36 to 19. Looks like she's still at it. From her profile, there are many from the same day, in Nov 2018. When clicking on "See all reviews", they show Aug 8, 2019. If you could check that she's not a contributor (only has 25+ badge) maybe the entire profile can be deleted, since its activities are fraudulent? Just a thought. Thanks. 

Editing to add the view of her reviews at TWOZ by descending date: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0032138/reviews?sort=submissionDate&dir=desc&ratingFilter=0
(Edited)
Photo of Marco

Marco

  • 1058 Posts
  • 1277 Reply Likes
If you could check that she's not a contributor (only has 25+ badge)

Currently, she/he has a 10+ badge (https://www.imdb.com/user/ur70175079/).
That's the first time I've ever seen a drop in someone's numbers!

Photo of Appraiser1

Appraiser1

  • 32 Posts
  • 42 Reply Likes
She (?) also had 36 reviews when I posted my OP. After Michelle replied, she went from 36 reviews to 19 (and she had added all the August 8 ones!) I guess her badges went down with removed reviews. Wonder how long it'll take her to find this thread. 
(Edited)
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 15251 Posts
  • 17400 Reply Likes
I'm exhausted. That took 3 minutes.




(Edited)
Photo of Appraiser1

Appraiser1

  • 32 Posts
  • 42 Reply Likes
Thanks, Ed. She had 36 of them, when I posted. Also, I'd surmise, you probably do not suffer from severe shoulder, wrist and palm pain, nor have impaired circulation causing burning aches down your arms, as I do. Your help is appreciated. Pity that the deletes aren't "instant satisfaction".
May I ask which program you use to screen capture a very long screen? I needed to use one for a project, and forgot the name of the online screen capture website I used a long time ago. (Hopefully not an "app"? I do not have a smartphone...) 
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 15251 Posts
  • 17400 Reply Likes
No Just severe arthritis, hand cramps, pulmonary fibrosis, and bad back pain.
Photo of Appraiser1

Appraiser1

  • 32 Posts
  • 42 Reply Likes
Bless you! We'll suffer for the arts! :) 
Photo of Appraiser1

Appraiser1

  • 32 Posts
  • 42 Reply Likes
So I still can't post a long "piccy" to show you, but I got 16 deletions approved and 8 declined. I wonder where Michelle is at regarding this? And if somebody could fix the capricious algorithm and give this AI some actual "i" instead of going "eenie, miny, moe" and picking randomly what to accept and what to decline, that might help.

I cannot wait for this film to drop from 8 to 7.9999, just so I can imagine the face on the user! 
Photo of bderoes

bderoes, Champion

  • 1312 Posts
  • 2072 Reply Likes
I don't think duplicate reviews count as duplicate ratings. When you open the window to write a review, it imports your rating. 

An average rating of 7.9999 should round up to display 8.0. Same for 7.95, but not for 7.949, which should display as 7.9.
Photo of Jeorj Euler

Jeorj Euler

  • 7215 Posts
  • 9379 Reply Likes
I hadn't known it was even possible for this to happen. Seem a tad horrifying.
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 15248 Posts
  • 17305 Reply Likes
Tell you what's horrifying.
My submission for removal was rejected for every single one!
(Edited)
Photo of Appraiser1

Appraiser1

  • 32 Posts
  • 42 Reply Likes
OH MY GOSH, Ed!!! Now, THAT IS exhausting! That's why I asked for help: I been getting a LOT of valid trivia and goofs rejected. I rephrase, resub... instantly approved, no verification! 

What is the link to verify mine? They do not appear at my standard contribution history with goofs & trivia. I know there's Beta page but don't have the link. Thanks! 

{PS: please kindly tell me the program for megalong webpage pix?)
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 15248 Posts
  • 17305 Reply Likes
Beta page link
https://contribute.imdb.com/contributions/history

Pix is just a screengrab from a PC

(Edited)
Photo of Appraiser1

Appraiser1

  • 32 Posts
  • 42 Reply Likes
OH? How you manage that baffles me. My PC (chrome only) doesn't capture past the small rectangle that is my screen. Someone on IMDb had given a free online website which does the pages as you have, can't recall the name of it. I think "piccy" was part of it, but that brought up nothing on my end (of Google algorithm), but an online photo editor without screen cap feature. The search continues...
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 15248 Posts
  • 17305 Reply Likes
Mozilla's Firefox is what I use.
Photo of MikeTheWhistle

MikeTheWhistle

  • 712 Posts
  • 913 Reply Likes
Appraiser1,
right click on a page and you'll see the menu Ed is showing if you're using firefox. If not you should be able to use it on chrome. To edit the image there are a bunch of image editing websites.
this is one
https://pixlr.com/editor/
but there are others. I don't really do much with images so I don't know what's a good one.
(Edited)
Photo of Appraiser1

Appraiser1

  • 32 Posts
  • 42 Reply Likes
Thanks, both. My recently acquired Chromebook sadly does not tolerate any browser unfaithfulness, m'afraid! Your pixlr editor link redirected me to LunaPic. Is that normal? I've used that before, it's a cool free photo editor, but SFAIK, not a long screen grab helper, which is what I was looking for.

So that's impossible on my cheapo/limited device?  
Photo of Jeorj Euler

Jeorj Euler

  • 7215 Posts
  • 9379 Reply Likes
Wow...
Photo of MikeTheWhistle

MikeTheWhistle

  • 712 Posts
  • 913 Reply Likes
i don't have and haven't used a chromebook so I didn't know.
take a look at this link. I think this should do it for you I hope.
https://www.cnet.com/how-to/how-to-take-a-screenshot-of-a-whole-web-page-in-chrome/

(as to why the link went someone else, I have no clue. that is weird. I have both bookmarked along with a couple others so I'm in the dark.)
(Edited)
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3533 Posts
  • 3392 Reply Likes

Sun Aug 11 2019

mlmorrisjr
IMDb member since December 2016
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur70175079/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur70175079/reviews - 19 Reviews - 8 August 2019
- - -

The Wizard of Oz (1939)
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0032138/reference
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0032138/reviews - 644 Reviews
.

(Edited)
Photo of MikeTheWhistle

MikeTheWhistle

  • 713 Posts
  • 934 Reply Likes
this might be related to this other thread where movies are changing ratings apparently pretty significantly

https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/glitch-on-the-ratings-system?topic-reply-list%5Bsettings%5D%...


Photo of Jeorj Euler

Jeorj Euler

  • 7215 Posts
  • 9379 Reply Likes
But a connection between the two anomalies might suggest that somebody figured out IMDb's proprietary algorithm and decided to exploit it.
Photo of MikeTheWhistle

MikeTheWhistle

  • 713 Posts
  • 934 Reply Likes
That's what I was wondering (although I didn't realize imdb did other than sum and divide ratings).
I did a glance of 3 titles that moved at least +5 within a day using one of those .nl links to id them.  I looked to see if any reviews were left by the same person and did not see that occur. But I don't know enough about how all the bolts work to know very well how to look which is why I wanted to at least throw it out there for people that know far more.

Something I would wonder is if a title gets a lot of new ratings in a short period of time, if imdb's algorithm somehow weights those differently. Those 3 that I did look at all had just over 50k ratings which did seem a bit odd to me that all 3 that had moved up at least 5 had just surpassed 50k votes.

So having done a job looking for people screwing with a system where they could steal millions of dollars I knew why they were doing it.  But here I'd bet somebody has figured something out although I'm not sure to what end other than hey we did it which I guess is enough for some.
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3531 Posts
  • 3392 Reply Likes
 
? ?

mlmorrisjr
IMDb member since December 2016
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur70175079/ratings
Access denied
- - -

The Wizard of Oz (1939)
User Ratings
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0032138/ratings
IMDb Users
354,795 IMDb users have given a weighted average vote of 8.0 / 10
Rating         Votes
10    22.9%  81,302
 9     17.9%  63,656
 8     26.4%  93,843
- - -

Other sample...

The Wizard of Oz (1939)
9/10
A delight...even if some of the songs really make very little sense.
MartinHafer
15 November 2009
Warning: Spoilers
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw2158342/

MartinHafer
IMDb member since June 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/reviews - 23,180 Reviews
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/ratings - 22,894 titles
.

Photo of Jeorj Euler

Jeorj Euler

  • 7215 Posts
  • 9379 Reply Likes
IMDb registered users' votes carry various weights. If I understand correctly, people who rate highest numbers of title entries carry he highest weights, or something like that: "prolific raters", in analogy to prolific reviewers, in a sense.
Photo of Appraiser1

Appraiser1

  • 32 Posts
  • 42 Reply Likes
Isn't this equal to "my presidential vote matters more than yours because I own two homes plus a pool house for the cabana boy and a Porshe I let him drive, and you live in a tiny house"?? Strange that some people's opinion are considered more worthy than us, "little people" with the better taste (and a pool boy!) 
Photo of Jeorj Euler

Jeorj Euler

  • 7215 Posts
  • 9379 Reply Likes

Only votes from regular IMDb voters (i.e. people who regularly vote on IMDb) are considered when generating the Top Rated Movies and Top Rated TV Shows lists. In addition to that, a title must have received a minimum amount of votes (currently 25,000) in order to appear in one of these lists. For details on how these lists are determined, please navigate to the list and scroll to the bottom.

To maintain the effectiveness of the Top Rated Movies and Top Rated TV Shows lists, we do not disclose the criteria used for an IMDb user to be counted as a regular voter.

Photo of Fabian Omar Natalichio

Fabian Omar Natalichio

  • 72 Posts
  • 93 Reply Likes
I'm scared. A real movie fan
Photo of MikeTheWhistle

MikeTheWhistle

  • 713 Posts
  • 934 Reply Likes
act_1,  thanks for that info. it was very very interesting and helpful. gonna take some time for me to absorb it all though.
Photo of Ed Jones (XLIX)

Ed Jones (XLIX)

  • 15251 Posts
  • 17398 Reply Likes
Don't encourage him Mike
He will spam your posts if you give him any encouragement.
(Edited)
Photo of NarniaisAwesome

NarniaisAwesome

  • 3247 Posts
  • 5429 Reply Likes
I'll help and report some reviews of theirs.  Hope it helps somehow.  ;)
Photo of Appraiser1

Appraiser1

  • 32 Posts
  • 42 Reply Likes
Thank you. 
Photo of Fabian Omar Natalichio

Fabian Omar Natalichio

  • 72 Posts
  • 93 Reply Likes
Just Some Humour, but I could imagine this fan typing all night.

Photo of NarniaisAwesome

NarniaisAwesome

  • 3206 Posts
  • 5371 Reply Likes
That's great.  ;)
Also this reviewer:
Frantic typing cat
Photo of Appraiser1

Appraiser1

  • 32 Posts
  • 42 Reply Likes
LOL, you guys! :D 
Photo of Appraiser1

Appraiser1

  • 32 Posts
  • 42 Reply Likes
I don't know where we're at, here, but it appears I only got partial satisfaction. The hacker fan's reviews are still up and running. Why? Have the admins given up on this? Could someone else besides myself and Ed report her, please?  Link on top of page, thanks. And if this can't be done, can I please get 36 fans to downvote this film to 1/10 for fairness, balance and accuracy?
Photo of bderoes

bderoes, Champion

  • 1312 Posts
  • 2072 Reply Likes
  • First of all, the reported offender has "only" 19 reviews at the moment, or at least that's what _I_ see, and my browser seems good about giving me the freshest version of pages.
  • Second, this thread is still marked "in progress". I suspect they're digging deeper into the issue than just deleting reviews and/or removing the account.
  • Third, the offender has not posted more reviews since 8Aug, so I'll bet s/he's been blocked.
  • Fourth (once you start numbering...), I don't believe that each review counts as a separate vote. Ratings is not a list, but a datapool.
  • Fifth, "balancing" with an equal number of 1's would result in an average of 5 for those votes, which is lower than the average for the title. Doesn't sound fair to me.
Give it some more time. In case you hadn't noticed, submissions are backlogging at the moment, which leads me to believe it's vacation season at HQ. That's probably true for all departments, not just data editors.
Photo of Appraiser1

Appraiser1

  • 32 Posts
  • 42 Reply Likes
Ah, thanks for the answer. Yes, I did post days earlier (I realize you can't be expected to read a long thread, no worries) that her count was down to 19 from 36. I'm not understanding the logic behind your "fifth" point but then again, math ain't my forte'. :P (I tend to add a bit of humor to my postings, didn't really expect 36 someones to take me on to the task and vote it 1!)
  
Though ref your 4th point: yes, every single review of hers has a 10/10 star attached, therefore I'm pretty sure it affected the movie ratings. Or at least, was counted, cos I'm really not sure how the algorithms work but nothing would please me more ATVM than to see this (insert negative adjective here) film descend from the overrated heights of its current 8/10. (What can I say?! I'm one of those!)
(Edited)
Photo of bderoes

bderoes, Champion

  • 1312 Posts
  • 2072 Reply Likes
4th point (so glad the numbering is helpful to us both): Really, when you click to add your review to a title, it picks up the rating that is already there. VOTING is a separate function from REVIEWING. The Vote is attached to the Review for info purposes only. Haven't you seen reviews that have no rating? I would bet a modest sum that there is only one record in the Ratings pool for each title+user combo, and that the Review pool is separate from the Ratings pool. This is not Amazon, where a review is required to rate the product. 

I'm not sure why you feel the need for a 1939 classic film to be pushed into the ash heap, ratings-wise. I don't have any interest in a lot of the films in the Top 250, but I don't desire to see them denigrated. A little song, a little dance, a little seltzer on the witch to make her melt... these are entertainment to a lot of folks. If it's not your cup of (green) tea, then swipe and move on? (Not about fixing the multiple reviews from one user, which needed attention, but from wanting to squash this film like a bug and jump on the squish over and over and over again. Or perhaps I'm reading too much into your comment. :)

Photo of Ardan Tüzünsoy

Ardan Tüzünsoy

  • 49 Posts
  • 96 Reply Likes
Is this the same crazy girlfriend who texted a guy 25 thousand times in one week?

Really, the things some people prefer to do with their time... and ruin other people's enjoyment at the same time.
Photo of Appraiser1

Appraiser1

  • 32 Posts
  • 42 Reply Likes
Haven't been by in a while. I see we're still stuck so a little bumping might help.

Sing it with me now: "I cant getno SATISSSfacsheun:
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0032138/reviews?sort=submissionDate&dir=desc&ratingFilter=0   

I realize this thread still says "in progress" but 4+ weeks for something that doesn't require thinking and debating this, really?  I appreciate all of you who have reported this user's reviews, and yes, every single review she posted DOES count and does bump up the rating, contrary to what someone else inferred. 

Please IMDb: this troll account NEEDS complete deletion. (This is just another form of trolling: breaking the rules, doesn't matter if your trolling is considered by *some* as positive, it's still breaking the rules and therefore trolling.)  

This film that mass hysteria has decided "great" really needs to quit taking other films rightful place and doesn't belong in the plus eight category.  (Just doing my part to help solve the greater and ost important problems of the world.)

And thanks to everyone who joins me in a 2nd (or 3rd, actually) round of reporting the madness! 
Photo of ACT_1

ACT_1

  • 3533 Posts
  • 3392 Reply Likes
 
See above message by Appraiser1  Sat Sep   7 2019
- - -

Sun Aug 11 2019
Sat Sep   7 2019

mlmorrisjr
IMDb member since December 2016
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur70175079/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur70175079/reviews - 19 Reviews
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur70175079/ratings - Access denied.

Sun Aug 11 2019
The Wizard of Oz (1939)
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0032138/reference
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0032138/reviews - 644 Reviews

Sat Sep  7 2019
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0032138/reviews - 650 Reviews
.


(Edited)
Photo of bderoes

bderoes, Champion

  • 1312 Posts
  • 2072 Reply Likes
I would hope that what's "in progress" is an update to the Review-writing software to prevent 1 user from submitting multiple reviews for the same title.

The user originally (8Aug) reported as having 36 reviews had all but 1 removed, then they posted 18 more (all dated 8Aug). Somehow they have been curtailed to not post more reviews than that.

There's also a glitch in what you see on different pages.
On the user's Reviews page, I see 18 reviews dated 8Aug and 1 dated 9Nov2018, and they're all different:
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur70175079/reviews
But on the user's Activity page, I see 19 copies of the 9Nov2018 review:
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur70175079/

I still maintain my theory that reviews don't contribute to the vote count.

Back on 12Aug above, Act_1 posted a few stats:

The Wizard of Oz (1939)
User Ratings
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0032138/ratings
IMDb Users
354,795 IMDb users have given a weighted average vote of 8.0 / 10
Rating         Votes
10    22.9%  81,302
 9     17.9%  63,656
 8     26.4%  93,843

As of today (7Sep):
355,595 IMDb users have given a weighted average vote of 8.0 / 10

Rating         Votes
10   22.9%  81,504
 9    17.9%  63,787
 8    26.5%  94,070

Notice that each rating has about 200 more votes, but the %'s are the same.

Let's capture counts for Reviews, so that when the extras are truly removed, we might see a decrease in the number of 10's there:
650 reviews
335 10s
  78   9s
  54   8s
(I took the time to expand the 10s and did find 19 different reviews from that user.)